Download a PDF version of the LSSC libraries' Collection Development Policy to print or save.
This policy is designed to guide the systematic development and management of Lake-Sumter State College (LSSC) library collections of print, audiovisual, and electronic materials. Since the nature of information dissemination, networking, and library resource sharing is undergoing revolutionary change, this policy considers collection development and management issues within the dynamic framework of global access to information resources, and requires regular assessment and adjustment. This policy applies to collection development and management at all LSSC libraries.
|Analytical Thinking||Analyzes information or data, evaluates, and draws rational and warranted conclusions, integrating quantitative and/or scientific reasoning as appropriate.|
|Communication - Oral||Demonstrates effective verbal delivery, message content, and organization of material.|
|Communication - Written||Writes with clear thesis and organization, proper development and presentation of ideas, and virtual freedom from grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors.|
|Information Fluency – Research||Selects, evaluates, uses, and documents appropriate college-level resources.|
|Information Fluency – Technology||Effectively applies current technology appropriate for academic assignments and/or career needs.|
|Social Responsibility||Demonstrates understanding of the breadth and variety of human culture and/or the complex inter-relationships between humans and the environment.|
In accordance with the college's mission, the college libraries recognize their responsibility to serve as an integral part of the college's instructional program. The mission of the LSSC libraries is to “provide high-quality resources, instruction, and research services to increase student success, support faculty and staff, enhance workforce development, and promote lifelong learning skills for community residents.”
In addition to serving college students, faculty and staff, the college libraries strive to provide continuing education opportunities that will enrich the entire community by making resources and facilities available to community residents. Materials will not be specifically acquired for community residents or groups, except for government documents (items in any format published or distributed by the U. S. Government Printing Office) that meet LSSC government documents selection criteria.
Responsibility for collection development at the South Lake campus joint-use library is shared by LSSC, the University of Central Florida, and the Lake County Library System. LSSC librarians are responsible for selecting materials intended for LSSC users in the joint-use library and at the Early College site.
Collection development is coordinated college-wide by the reference librarian assigned with responsibility for collection development (hereafter referred to as the Collection Development Librarian). The librarians from all three campuses work cooperatively in recommending and selecting materials for purchase. Standard reviewing journals such as Library Journal and Choice are utilized in print and online formats by library staff providing reference services, who are directed to select appropriate materials, especially in areas of collection weakness or heavy usage.
Full-time and part-time faculty members at all campuses are encouraged to recommend materials in their academic disciplines. Notices are sent to faculty via e-mail, written memos, and by telephone requesting faculty suggestions. All suggested titles are reviewed and evaluated by the professional library staff and are forwarded to the Collection Development Librarian. The Director of Library Services has final authority in the selection of materials.
LSSC operates libraries at each of the college's three campuses and collaborates with The Villages High School in providing library resources for dual enrollment students at an Early College site. Collection development focuses on subject areas that serve to support the instructional, research and public service activities of the college community. Each college library houses materials supporting instructional activities at the campus it serves.
The Leesburg library was founded in 1962 and serves as the central library, housing the most comprehensive reference and periodicals collections. The Leesburg library has been a selective depository for U.S. government documents since 1962. In addition to curriculum and research needs, the information needs of citizens residing in the Congressional Districts represented in the LSSC service areas are considered in the selection and retention of government documents.
The Sumter campus library opened in 1997 and served as a joint-use library for the college and the Sumter County Library System from January 2000 until October 1, 2014, when Sumter County terminated its cooperative agreement with the college. Upon termination of the agreement, Sumter County collections were removed from the library.
The South Lake Campus library opened in September 1999 and in the spring of 2002 became a joint-use library serving LSSC and the University of Central Florida (UCF). In August 2009, the joint-use library moved to a new 50,000 square foot facility, and became a three-way joint-use facility, serving LSSC, UCF, and the Lake County Library System. LSSC, UCF and Lake County each select and acquire material based on the needs of their users.
Librarians use these general criteria for materials selection to support Associate and Baccalaureate programs:
The libraries use the same guidelines for inclusion of donated materials that are used for purchased materials. The works of local authors are not accepted unless they meet guidelines such as relevance to the curriculum, are critically acclaimed, or make a substantial, documented contribution to local history. Periodical donations are usually not accepted, unless they are not available electronically, and provide a complete run of bound volumes in an area requiring a high level of curriculum support.
Donated materials must be in good physical condition with no writing or highlighting inside. There should be no stains, mildew, or brittle pages, and bindings should be in good repair. Donations which meet collection development guidelines will be integrated into the main collection. The Director of Library Services will not provide any estimation of value for any donated item, but will provide a letter acknowledging the donation.
Due to the libraries' limited budgets and diminishing ability to physically collect even a small percentage of the world's information, access rather than ownership has become the reality of collection development. Increasing numbers of information resources are available only in online electronic formats. The worldwide development of electronic information systems such as online library catalogs, abstracting, aggregating, and full-text databases have made it possible for libraries to direct users to vast quantities of information resources. While the libraries cannot physically collect all of the material relevant to their users, they can provide access to the vast amount of information available for use in other collections. This type of access requires that libraries engage in cooperative collection development, resource sharing, and document delivery systems. When it is determined that access on demand is more economically feasible in terms of storage, projected use, and cost, this option can enhance the libraries' abilities to expand the information base available to their primary users.
Every possible effort will be made to cooperate with the Lake County Library System, the University of Central Florida, The Villages High School, regional and statewide organizations, particularly the Tampa Bay Library Consortium, the Florida Virtual Campus, the Florida College System libraries, the State University System, and the Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida (ICUF), for the purpose of sharing resources and engaging in cooperative acquisitions projects.
The partnership between LSSC, the Lake County Library System, and the University of Central Florida at the Cooper Memorial library on the South Lake campus presents unique opportunities for cooperative collection development. Librarians from each institution collaborate in developing methods and tools to coordinate collection activities. The partners have agreed to focus on the following subject areas:
Lake-Sumter State College:
Lake County Library System:
University of Central Florida:
Librarians will use information sharing tools to coordinate collection activity and to avoid duplication of material.
This policy will be reviewed and updated as necessary in order to reflect the changing information environment in the college libraries.
Policy Last Revised July 2015