EBSCO DatabasesGale DatabasesJSTOROther Databases
This is the "Tutorials - Home" page of the "Tutorials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tutorials  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lssc.edu/tutorials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Tutorials - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What Are Tutorials?

Tutorials are self-paced lessons combining text, images, and video which show you concepts about library research. Tutorials may be:

  • general, as in a tutorial about search strategies, or
  • specific, as in a tutorial on how to complete a course assignment

The tutorials in this library guide were created by both LSSC librarians and database vendors. Therefore, some tutorials may not be specific to LSSC.

Click on any of the links below or the tabs above to access the tutorials.

  • Using Library Databases
    These pages contain short videos to help you understand how to use databases made by different companies.
  • Psychology Media Assignment
    Includes tutorials and handouts to help students with the Media Assignment for Ms. McNulty's online PSY 2012 Introduction to Psychology class.
  • MLA Formatting & Citation
    These tutorials will show you how to set up a paper in correct MLA format in Microsoft Word.
  • Information Literacy
    This tutorial is designed to help you understand what information resources are available in the library and on the Web, how to find resources, how to use them efficiently, and how to evaluate them.

What Do These Terms Mean?

Here is a glossary of terms you will find in this guide:

database: a collection of searchable electronic records. Library databases can include information from books, magazines and journals, images, and audio or video files.

MLA Style: guidelines used in the humanities for documenting the use of information. Published by the Modern Language Association.

vendor: a person or company offering something for sale or lease. Database vendors allow libraries access to their product for a fee.

      

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    James Cason
    Contact Info
    Leesburg Campus Library
    (352) 435-5030
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip