This is the "Purpose, Overview, General Criteria" page of the "Collection Development Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lssc.edu/collectiondevelopment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose, Overview, General Criteria Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Printable Version

Download a PDF version of the LSSC libraries' Collection Development Policy to print or save.

 

Purpose of Collection Development

This policy is designed to guide the systematic development and management of Lake-Sumter State College (LSSC) library collections of print, audiovisual, and electronic materials. Since the nature of information dissemination, networking, and library resource sharing is undergoing revolutionary change, this policy considers collection development and management issues within the dynamic framework of global access to information resources, and requires regular assessment and adjustment. This policy applies to collection development and management at all LSSC libraries.

 

College Mission

Lake-Sumter State College responds to community needs by providing high-quality, accessible programs from enrichment and career training to associate and baccalaureate degrees. LSSC embraces excellence, diversity, and innovation to maximize student learning and success.
 

LSSC General Education Competencies

Analytical Thinking Analyzes information or data, evaluates, and draws rational and warranted conclusions, integrating quantitative and/or scientific reasoning as appropriate.
Communication - Oral Demonstrates effective verbal delivery, message content, and organization of material.
Communication - Written Writes with clear thesis and organization, proper development and presentation of ideas, and virtual freedom from grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors.
Creativity Demonstrates originality in their work or in strategies to solve problems, and/or assess outcomes, and/or apply multiple solutions.
Independence Attends class and exhibits preparation for class, meets assignment deadlines with minimal supervision, and/or makes good decisions related to assignments.
Information Fluency – Research Selects, evaluates, uses, and documents appropriate college-level resources.
Information Fluency – Technology Effectively applies current technology appropriate for academic assignments and/or career needs.
Leadership & Teamwork Assesses, plans, and utilizes resources in a leadership role, and/or collaborates with others.
Social Responsibility Demonstrates understanding of the breadth and variety of human culture and/or the complex inter-relationships between humans and the environment.
 

Mission of the College Libraries

In accordance with the college's mission, the college libraries recognize their responsibility to serve as an integral part of the college's instructional program. The mission of the LSSC libraries is to “provide high-quality resources, instruction, and research services to increase student success, support faculty and staff, enhance workforce development, and promote lifelong learning skills for community residents.”

In addition to serving college students, faculty and staff, the college libraries strive to provide continuing education opportunities that will enrich the entire community by making resources and facilities available to community residents. Materials will not be specifically acquired for community residents or groups, except for government documents (items in any format published or distributed by the U. S. Government Printing Office) that meet LSSC government documents selection criteria.

Collection development for the joint-use library at the Sumter campus is a shared responsibility of LSSC and the Sumter County Library System. Responsibility for collection development at the South Lake campus joint-use library is shared by LSSC, the University of Central Florida, and the Lake County Library System. LSSC libraries are responsible for selecting materials intended for LSSC use in the joint-use libraries and at the Early College site.

 

Purpose of Collection Development Policy

This policy is intended to define a collection development and information access program to meet the following objectives:
  • To assist librarians in providing current, diverse, balanced collections of materials to support the instructional, institutional and individual needs of students, faculty and staff
  • To provide access to materials in appropriate formats consistent with the College's fiscal resources
  • To encourage faculty participation in collection development and organized access to electronic resources
  • To foster coordinated collection development and resource sharing among campuses
  • To serve distance education students and faculty by providing remote access to materials in the most appropriate and cost-effective manner
  • To assist with short-range and long-range fiscal planning
 

Policy Review

This policy will be reviewed and updated as necessary in order to reflect the changing information environment in the college libraries.

 Policy Last Revised May 2014

 

Collection Overview

LSSC operates libraries at each of the college's three campuses and collaborates with The Villages High School in providing library resources for dual enrollment students at an Early College site. Collection development focuses on subject areas that serve to support the instructional, research and public service activities of the college community. Each college library houses materials supporting instructional activities at the campus it serves.

The Leesburg library was founded in 1962 and serves as the central library, housing the most comprehensive reference and periodicals collections. The Leesburg library has been a selective depository for U.S. government documents since 1962. In addition to curriculum and research needs, the information needs of citizens residing in the Congressional Districts represented in the LSSC service areas are considered in the selection and retention of government documents.

The Sumter campus library opened in 1997 and in January 1999 began operating as a joint-use library with the Sumter County Public Library System in a new library facility. LSSC and the Sumter County Library System each select and acquire material based on the needs of their users.

The South Lake Campus library opened in September 1999 and in the spring of 2002 became a joint-use library serving LSSC and the University of Central Florida (UCF). In August 2009, the joint-use library moved to a new 50,000 square foot facility, and became a three-way joint-use facility, serving LSSC, UCF, and the Lake County Library System. LSSC, UCF and Lake County each select and acquire material based on the needs of their users.

 

General Criteria for Selection of Materials

Librarians use these general criteria for materials selection to support Associate and Baccalaureate programs:

  • Relevance to the curriculum and appropriateness to the user
  • Timeliness and lasting value of material
  • Reputation of the author, issuing body, and/or publisher
  • Presentation: style, clarity, reading level
  • Aesthetic considerations: literary, artistic, or social value; appeal to the imagination, senses, or intellect
  • Special features: detailed, logical, accurate index; bibliography; footnotes; appropriate illustrations
  • Physical and technical quality: paper, typography, and design; physical size; binding; durability
  • Ease of access or user-friendliness
  • Suitability of content to form
  • Depth of current holdings in the same or similar subject
  • Demand, frequency of interlibrary loan requests placed for material on the same or similar subject
  • Cost of material relative to the budget and other available material
  • Availability in alternate physical or online formats
  • Language
    • All library materials will be collected primarily in the English language, with the exception of foreign language materials supporting foreign language courses.
  • Duplicates
    • Duplicates for individual campuses will be purchased only when high demand is anticipated. Duplicate materials will be added within campus library collections if warranted by heavy usage of copies already held by the library. Duplication of fee-based materials provided by LINCCWeb or other cooperative entities will be considered.
  • Out-of-Print Materials
    • OP materials are rarely purchased. Most selections are current publications. The library recognizes the need for some out-of print purchases, primarily for replacement of heavily used items which are lost or withdrawn due to poor physical condition. However, in view of the difficulty and expense in obtaining rare, out-of-print, and reprinted material, it is most important to use the libraries’ limited funds for current publications of long-term worth
 

Donations

The libraries use the same guidelines for inclusion of donated materials that are used for purchased materials. The works of local authors are not accepted unless they meet guidelines such as relevance to the curriculum, are critically acclaimed, or make a substantial, documented contribution to local history. Periodical donations are usually not accepted, unless they are not available electronically, and provide a complete run of bound volumes in an area requiring a high level of curriculum support.

Donated materials must be in good physical condition with no writing or highlighting inside. There should be no stains, mildew, or brittle pages, and bindings should be in good repair. Donations which meet collection development guidelines will be integrated into the main collection. The Director of Library Services will not provide any estimation of value for any donated item, but will provide a letter acknowledging the donation.

 

Cooperative Collection Development

Due to the libraries' limited budgets and diminishing ability to physically collect even a small percentage of the world's information, access rather than ownership has become the reality of collection development. Increasing numbers of information resources are available only in online electronic formats. The worldwide development of electronic information systems such as online library catalogs, abstracting, aggregating, and full-text databases have made it possible for libraries to direct users to vast quantities of information resources. While the libraries cannot physically collect all of the material relevant to their users, they can provide access to the vast amount of information available for use in other collections. This type of access requires that libraries engage in cooperative collection development, resource sharing, and document delivery systems. When it is determined that access on demand is more economically feasible in terms of storage, projected use, and cost, this option can enhance the libraries' abilities to expand the information base available to their primary users.

Every possible effort will be made to cooperate with the Lake County Library System, the Sumter County Library system, the University of Central Florida, The Villages High School, regional and statewide organizations, particularly the Tampa Bay Library Consortium, the Florida Virtual Campus, the Florida College System libraries, the State University System, and the Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida (ICUF), for the purpose of sharing resources and engaging in cooperative acquisitions projects.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Since the libraries make no effort to collect at the research or comprehensive level, and do not provide materials to support faculty and staff pursuing advanced degrees, interlibrary loan and document delivery will be utilized to provide materials outside the scope of the libraries' collections.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip